Scanning a document with a phone is a solved problem; the question is what it costs you. Most of the good options are apps, some want an account, and a couple stamp a watermark on the file unless you pay. We checked 11 by name on 2 October 2026, from the household names to the ones only book-scanners and iPhone owners know about. One of them, Microsoft Lens, has since been retired. ScanReviver is ours; every fact about the others links to the page we read it on.
Your file is deleted the moment it's done. Here the original goes right after processing and the result after 45 minutes. A phone app that scans on the device never uploads the page at all, which is the safer habit for very sensitive papers.
By ShinobiTools Team · Last updated: 2 October 2026
Checked on each tool's own page, help page or app store listing on 2 October 2026; the source is linked in each row. "Not stated" means the page we read doesn't say, so we don't guess. App store prices are the US listings. "Best for" is the one job each tool is built around, not a marketing line.
| Tool | Best for | Free limit | Account needed | Watermark | Price | Platform |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ScanReviver | One scan, right now, no install | 10 documents a day, 30 pages each, 250 MB per file | No | None | Free; optional pass €3 for 24 hours or €5 for 30 days, one-off | Browser, any device; processed on our server |
| Microsoft Lens | Nothing any more: retired | Removed from the app stores on 9 February 2026; no new scans after 9 March 2026 (source) | n/a | n/a | n/a | Microsoft points to the scan in the OneDrive app |
| Adobe Scan | OCR & Acrobat workflow | Free download with OCR; a subscription raises OCR capacity "from 5 to 100 pages" (App Store) | Scans are stored in your Adobe Document Cloud storage (source) | Not stated | In-app plans, e.g. Premium $9.99 a month (App Store) | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| Genius Scan | Unlimited plain scanning | "Unlimited and fully-functional"; OCR is in Ultra (source) | Not stated | "Without any watermark" (source) | Ultra $39.99 a year | Mobile app |
| CamScanner | Name recognition, big user base | Free with in-app purchases; the listing says it contains ads (App Store) | Not stated | Not stated by CamScanner; App Store reviews describe one on free exports | Premium Account $9.99 a month or $59.99 a year (App Store) | iPhone listing checked |
| Google Drive | Already living in Google Drive | Scan button in the Drive app, saves as PDF or JPG (source) | Saves into your Google Drive | Not stated | No price on Google's help page | Android, iPhone, iPad |
| Apple Notes | iPhone owners, zero setup | Built into Notes; the scan is saved as a PDF in the note (source) | Not stated (built into Notes) | Not stated | Built into Notes | iPhone (Apple's iPhone guide checked) |
| SwiftScan | Quick single-tap scans | "Free, high-quality PDF or JPG scans"; OCR, auto-sync and encryption are in Plus (App Store) | Not stated | Not stated | Plus from $7.99 a month, or $59.99 a year | iPhone, iPad, Mac |
| Scanner Pro | Scanning on Apple devices | Free to scan and share; OCR is in Plus (source) | Not stated | Yes: "watermark-free scans" is a Plus feature (source) | Plus is a 1-week or 1-year subscription; the App Store lists $3.99 to $59.99 (App Store) | iPhone, iPad |
| vFlat | Book pages | "Unlimited scans"; extra OCR pages are sold in packs (Google Play, App Store) | "No sign-in required" | "Will not add watermarks" | Subscriptions from $3.99 a month or $35.90 a year | iPhone, iPad, Android |
| TurboScan | Pay once, no subscription | "Up to three multipage documents" in the free version (Google Play) | Not stated | Not stated | One-off: TurboScan Premium $14.99 (App Store) | iOS, Android |
The table above is the summary. This is the specific thing each free tier will not let you do, as far as the tool's own pages say.
"Scan" and "OCR" get used interchangeably, and they are not the same thing. A scan is a clean photo of the page. OCR (optical character recognition) turns the letters in that photo into real, selectable, searchable text: the difference between a picture of a receipt and a receipt you can search for by amount.
Two tools on this list read text for free. Adobe Scan ("convert scanned documents into editable, searchable PDF files", with a subscription raising OCR capacity from 5 to 100 pages) and ScanReviver, which works as a free OCR tool when you tick OCR before you download (English, Dutch, German, French, Spanish and Portuguese). Paid: Genius Scan (Ultra), SwiftScan (Plus) and Scanner Pro (Plus). vFlat sells extra text recognition pages in packs. For CamScanner, Google Drive, Apple Notes and TurboScan we did not find a clear statement on the pages we read, so we leave them out here.
ScanReviver does: the cleanup happens on a server, so no signal means no scan. Among the apps, TurboScan says "all scanning happens on your iPhone", and Genius Scan describes its OCR as on-device. For the other apps we did not find a clear statement, so check before you rely on them in a basement or on a plane.
Each tool has a different home for the finished file. Adobe Scan stores scans in your Adobe Document Cloud storage, and you can sign in with an Adobe ID to reach them through the Acrobat web app. Google Drive's scanner saves straight into Drive. Apple Notes saves the scan as a PDF inside the note. TurboScan keeps the scanning on your phone. ScanReviver has no "home" at all: it hands you the finished PDF to download and deletes its own copy 45 minutes later, which is the point of a tool with no account.
Stitching several pages into one PDF is table stakes. What differs is the free ceiling. TurboScan has the hardest number: up to three multipage documents in the free version. ScanReviver allows 10 documents a day of up to 30 pages each. Genius Scan and vFlat state unlimited scans. Adobe Scan caps OCR, not scanning. For the rest, their pages don't give a number.
The paid step-ups, from each tool's own page or US App Store listing on 2 October 2026:
Apple Notes is built into the iPhone and Google Drive's scan is part of the Drive app; neither help page mentions a price. ScanReviver's scan is free too, capped at 10 documents a day; a €5 pass raises that to 100 a day for 30 days.
None of this is really about the software. Three things decide whether the result looks scanned or photographed, and they all happen before you upload:
Get those right and every tool on this list produces something usable. Get them wrong and none of them can save it.
On 2 October 2026 we read each tool's own product page, help page or app store listing and noted the free limits, account requirements, watermark policy, prices and platform. Each fact links to its page. We did not scan the same document with 11 tools and rank the output: the result depends far more on the light and the angle than on the software, as the section above explains.
What we could not confirm, and therefore left out or marked "Not stated": whether CamScanner, Genius Scan, SwiftScan, Scanner Pro and TurboScan need an account; watermarks for Adobe Scan, Google Drive, Apple Notes, SwiftScan and TurboScan; CamScanner's watermark (only App Store reviews mention it). An earlier version of this page recommended Microsoft Lens, which Microsoft has since retired, and gave vFlat a monthly scan cap that its current listing doesn't show.
Prices and free caps on apps we do not control can move without notice. If one of these numbers is stale, mail hello@shinobitools.com and we will fix it. ScanReviver runs on computers we operate ourselves.
Our own scan to PDF tool turns any phone photo into a clean document, book page scanner crops and straightens photos of book pages (it does not un-curl a bent page), and receipt scanner turns a photo of a receipt into a clean, straight PDF.
Yes, no account, no app, no watermark, no charge to download, up to 10 documents a day. Ads on the page keep the server running.
For regular scanning, honestly yes: an app sees the page live through the camera and catches the edges before you take the shot. A browser tool works from the photo you already took. If you scan something once a month, that difference is not worth an install and an account.
Yes, if you want it to. Tick the OCR box before you download the PDF and ScanReviver adds a hidden text layer, so the words can be searched and copied. It reads English, Dutch, German, French, Spanish and Portuguese, and it is off by default because it adds a little time. See OCR PDF for more. Need an editable file instead? You can convert a PDF to Word here with PDF to Word. Adobe Scan also includes OCR free, with a page cap.
By their own pages: ScanReviver, Genius Scan ("without any watermark") and vFlat ("will not add watermarks"). Scanner Pro sells watermark-free scans as part of Plus. CamScanner doesn't say; App Store reviews describe a watermark on free exports. For the others the pages we read don't mention watermarks.
ScanReviver and vFlat ("no sign-in required"). Apple Notes is built into the iPhone, so there is nothing to download. Google Drive's scanner saves into your Google Drive, and Adobe Scan stores scans in your Adobe Document Cloud storage. For the other apps the pages we read don't say.
Think first. Every browser tool sends the file to a server. Ours deletes it immediately and stores no account, but if the document is genuinely sensitive, a phone app that processes on the device is the safer habit.
Uneven light. A shadow across half the page makes the cleanup guess wrong about what is paper and what is ink. Light from the side, phone directly above, and it fixes itself.
2 October 2026. Mail hello@shinobitools.com if a limit here has moved.
Usually, yes. Every tool on this list turns a phone photo into a scanner document to PDF, ready to email or file, and most can also save a JPG.
Not for ScanReviver: it runs entirely as a web page, so there is no document scanner software installed. The phone apps in the list are the ones that install something.
ScanReviver runs as a document scanner online with no app. Adobe Scan is an app first, though you can reach your scans through the Acrobat web app after signing in with an Adobe ID.
Automatic edge detection and perspective correction: a document photo scanner that finds the four corners of the page and straightens it saves you from framing every photo dead square yourself. ScanReviver does this on the photo you upload; apps like Apple Notes and Genius Scan do it live in the camera.
Not on ScanReviver: scan the page here with OCR ticked, then run the result through PDF to Word. Microsoft Lens used to do this in one step, but it has been retired.
Yes. OCR is off by default, so as a PDF scanner it cleans and straightens the page and gives you an image-only PDF; tick OCR only when you need the text to be searchable. The PDF scan comes out smaller without it, and a scanner PDF without OCR is all most people need for e-mail.
ShinobiTools · KvK 42147182 · info@shinobitools.com